Just starting out in the chicago and surrounding area

4 Replies

My wife and I just decided to start our very first flip. I am a retired Navy Seabee builder and currently work for a multi-site company as a Project Manager. we are looking into the HML vs Conventional loan. the house we are looking at is in a very nice area the comps in the area are good also. I guess my question is would it be hard to get a HML and how do they work? I was going through some of the information but don't fully understand if the HML % is based on the total loan amount or the selling price?

Thank you

Sam             

HI

Just search the site for hard money - THere are thousands of posts and podcasts on the subject.

Are you able to get the property and close in 30-45 days?  Then go conventional, it will be less stressful for your first deal

WIll you only get it if its a quick cash sale and you know you can flip it in 30-50 days?  Than hard money might be a good option.

Contact a few hard money guys and meet them face to face- You will see education solves all.

Nick, thank you for the advice. I will contact a few of the Hard money lenders and set up a meeting to learn more about it. I'm not sure if the property would qualify for a conventional loan. It would need to be total rehab that's why I was thinking hard money loan. As for the time frame I believe I could get it done with in the 50 days as long as everything is in place, but if I know construction there is always something. I am a retired Navy Seabee builder. investing in realty has always been a passion of mine, I am looking to flip and even hold a few properties for my self to create that passive income while doing what I love best renovating old stuff and making them shine again.

Originally posted by @Samuel Gorgas :