Complete tear down and rebulid for my first?

14 Replies

Hello,

I am still new to REI and would like to do my first deal soon. I have a family member who has a single family home and has not lived in it for over a year, for a very good price. There are a lot of problems with the property from years of neglect. The property is large (for the location) and is in a great location in the town.

My idea would be to tear down the existing SF structure and have a multi-family home built in its place. Would this be a good idea for someone who is brand new to REI? What would be the best way to approach this situation? I would like advice and criticism from everyone, so please fire away.

Why not convert it? It would have to be amazing for me to demo the entire thing.

@Kyle Penland

That could be a possibility. I don't really know much about the process or if it would be a better idea to convert or demo, I would need to get a local contractor to determine that. The water main broke and flooded the entire basement and was never properly taken care of so I don't know if that would compromise the integrity of the structure.

Originally posted by @David Pickard :

@Kyle Penland

I don't really know much about the process or if it would be a better idea to convert or demo, I would need to get a local contractor to determine that. 

It sounds as though you may be getting in over your head.  You cannot rely on a contractor to provide sufficiently accurate and thorough information on a core decision.

@William W.

Yes and that is what I am trying to avoid, getting in over my head. But I am looking at multiple strategies as far as this property in concerned. I was just wondering if anyone thought it would be a sound decision to tear down and rebuild a new multi family on the land. There is a multi-family directly across the street that was built about 10 years ago in place of an old single family house, this is where I got the idea from.