Help newbie - take this deal or leave it?

10 Replies

Hello BP members,

I am a newbie and have found a potential property in Birmingham, AL.  This will be my first if I choose to proceed.   

As far as I can tell the numbers look right from my calucations. Asking price is 33 K. House is presently rented to a section 58 lady so there is a steady check and she faithfully pays the difference of $200. The rent is $700.00. My issue is that the seller (FSBO) wants to sell quick and changed his mind from financing to cash only offer. I do have the funds though this was not my original plan. Looking at other properties this appears to be a great deal. I also like the fact that there is a section 8 renter whom I have met, keeps property in good condition and has no plans of moving soon.

My question is am I putting too much down for a starter.   My thinking is I can utilize the cash out strategy down the road and move on to other properties without being tied down for using a big chunk of my capital.  Thoughts please? Are there factors I am not considering if I go all cash on this deal? 

Hello Katherine.  I'll note two things.  First, why did the seller "all of a sudden" change his mind that he wants an all cash offer.  And did you discuss lowering the price for an all cash offer?  This makes me weary of the seller.  He may be baiting you just to get all cash.  

Secondly, using all cash now depends on your strategy and goals.  I prefer to leverage more because I'm young and hope that I am around for a long time. 

Have you looked into financing this deal?  I imagine if you have the cash for this it shouldn't be difficult to get financing either.