Need advice - Turnkey opportunity in Philadelphia - 54th and Girard

15 Replies

Hi everybody,

I potentially have the opportunity to purchase a turnkey rental property in Philadelphia. The major cross streets are 54th and Girard. It's a fully-renovated duplex with monthly rent of $1,350, NOI of $955, and a purchase price of $107,000. I've not submitted any earnest money or anything yet. It's just a property they have available so I'm just doing my own research to see if it might be a good buy.

I've read numerous posts on this forum as well as other articles touting the "up and coming" status of Phily, but I'm concerned about crime and some of the neighborhoods. I'm most interested in hearing people's opinions who know this particular area. Would this be a potentially interesting deal to you given the area? Thanks in advance for the feedback!

That is a rough area. I'm not an expert in that neighborhood, but that would be a cash flow play - not appreciation.

Since I don't do the low-income thing I would not buy there, but hey people make money at it.

I just took 3 minutes to look up that corner in a trulia crime map and here was the most recent incident:

"Shooting/Stabbing. PD o/s of a shooting. 1 male shot & being taken to Presbyterian by PD. No suspect info."

With that being said, there is no way I would ever purchase a turnkey there.  Im curious why would you want to purchase a turnkey in a high crime area when there are so many other places that dont have a high crime rate?  What is it about philly that is making you look there for turnkeys?

As a turnkey purchaser myself, this is one of my strict criteria.  No high crime neighborhoods. 

Thanks for the feedback, guys.