Rchmond VA ghost college town in summer good or bad investment?

18 Replies

Hello i am just starting out in real estate. I would ideally like to get a 4-8 unit complex and rent out individual apartments but if i have to start with just a 4 bedroom home that is fine. 

My question is  have heard Richmond becomes a ghost town in the summer when the college kids leave. Should i be alarmed by this. Is it a good idea to invest in a college summer ghost town?

I can attest.  This is true, or at least it was when I went in 2007-2009.  Hope this helps.  Have you been to Richmond?  Be careful, the lines between good and bad neighborhoods are very sharp... Most properties in "the Fan" should be good to go.

Maybe I am too close to the Forrest to see the trees but I don't think richmond is a ghost town by any stretch. It is a large growing city with a rapidly growing metro area. Vcu has 30k+ students but a lot of them live in richmond and are there year round. If your renting to college kids you will have more churn than with non students but that is the case everywhere.  There really aren't many/any bad neighborhoods close to campus anymore. If you go north over the bridge it gets rough and I would avoid that area. The areas south east and west are all a lot more good than bad and getting more expensive by the month.

Thank you for your comments. I have visited. My current room mate lived there for 3 years and said in the summer everyone leaves. Here in Virginia Beach it is a ghost town in the winter compared to the summer. Thats what he meant. Its much more populated in the winter. But as long as some stay year round thats all i need. 

As far as what are the good neighborhoods. You said north of the bridge? Is randolph or maymont still good?  I looked at the prices of the neighbor homes and they are lowish.