Which is better investment? Better market value or better cash flow?

11 Replies

hey folks, I'm a rookie so please be kind.  I'm wondering what you think is a better investment for a guy in my situation.  A single family home in a good area with a good possibility of the house value raising with $210 monthly cash flow (using 50% rule).  Or, a triplex, in a much less desirable area, but with a cash flow of nearly $550 per month (50% rule). 

Things to consider: I do not plan on doing this full time. I am looking to make my FIRST real estate investment (other than my personal home). I would like my first investment to be a very safe purchase and am willing to sacrifice some cash flow for security until I get a better grasp of the process. 

Thanks so much for any feedback. This site is awesome and such a supportive community!

-Teague D.

Ask a local agent...there's so many different factors I don't have access to

But the triplex....by a mile.

The house will have vacancy from time to time where no money comes in. That will never happen on the triplex, you might have one or even two units vacant at a time, but never all 3. 

I've also found that on my duplexes I'll usually get a long term tenant that ends up acting as a spy for me on all my newer tenants. I don't ask for this, it's just sort of a psychological effect of them having 'senior' status. 

I think you're underselling how much a triplex will appreciate, again I don't know your area, but I suspect that there isn't a huge volume of triplexes around and that should you ever want to sell it, it would get snapped up quick.

Anyway, good luck with the investing. Whatever you do, screen the tenants well. Rental history, criminal history, and credit.

@Teague D.

Agree with what @Richard Redding said to you. I do know your area, and while there are many parts I would tend to avoid, if the tri-plex is in a "C" area, then you should jump on it, for the reasons Rich mentioned above.