can pay cash for house if we want to

2nd

85k asking price

950 rental income expected

810/month in taxes

closing costs approx 2.5k

possibly 1k in repairs needed

can pay cash for house if we want

I'm new to all this but these see like good deals to me. I'd love some feedback from more experienced investors if possible!

Thanks, Heather

Where are these properties? Taxes seem outrageous. Neither deal looks too good.

It is Southern Pines, NC. Yeah taxes are kind of high. They don't look too good b/c of the taxes?

Heather Ippolito I agree with Mathew neither deal looks very lucrative and taxes through the roof.

Thanks @Matthew Cole and @Account Closed

I found a house of similar price in the area with taxes at 220/month. Much better. Surprising how different taxes can be for different houses. I still don't understand how that works. Why would the taxes be so different in houses so close by?

Hello,

Are you 100% that tax information is correct?

I just find it to be a tad bit high for NC.

@Thelonious Jones It is what is listed on the MLS. I am planning to ask the agent about it when I see the places.

Yes ma'am, I agree, try to get as much info as possible. You may be also able to research with the County Tax Assessors online.

In my opinion if it is $633 & $810 a year is sounds like as decent return, however if it is $633 & $810 a month wouldn't entertain it.

Hope this helps.

@Heather Ippolito if your taking the data from the MLS listing they are listing the annual tax's not monthly .. what you do need to figure out tho is if the tax's are low because of owner occ status and will they rise when they are turned into rentals.

In many states owner occ's get about a 50% discount compared to investors.. they get it through their homeowner exemption...