walking away from a deal

11 Replies

I'm new to investing...I have a property under contract, inspection has been done, and my financing is in process.   I've asked the seller to fix several items in the home.   I'm still about a month away from closing.  I'm getting cold feet.  It's my first rental property, I'm wondering whether I'll be able to rent it out.   I do have funds to pay mortgage if the place sits vacant for a few months, but not sure I want to do that.   My question is whether I can back out or not?  If the seller fixes everything on the inspection report, can I still walk away?   Am I obligated to close if my reason for backing out is simply 'cold feet'???

I doubt your sales contract has a cold feet clause. If it doesnt work out, just turn around and sell the house if you decide this isnt for you. You will be able to get the house rented out, the question is just for how much.

Originally posted by @Nick Taskani :

I checked, no cold feet clause. 

So no one has done this before?  Can I say his repairs are not satisfactory to me?  

thanks!

I say you back out now rather than waste sellers time and money. I know it's a big step to get into REI, there is a lot to think about. Lying to get out of a contract is not a good way to start a business.

I agree with Mike. I'd get out now, not after you waste money and time. If you're going to be a REI for the long run people will remember. Interview a few RE agents in your area just incase you decide to sell it afterwards. Good luck and just remember no guts no glory.

If you back out you will surely lose all your earnest money. 

I have heard of buyers calling their lender and telling them they dont want to buy and ask them to provide a letter of financing turn-down.  This is a super shady thing and your lender may not go for it. 

What is causing you to get cold feet?