Simple Noob ? about property sale history

9 Replies

Hi guys, I am new to all this and am analyzing deals just for experience purposes. The following is not for an offer but just for me to learn. I found this property listed for foreclosure at $148,000 but it appears the market value is only $109,845. Why is a foreclosure so much higher in price? Also in the sales history, what does qualified or unqualified mean? What is the difference between Vacant or Improved? And lastly , I do not understand hte sales history sale price. Clearly 17 million was not paid, so what are these 3 numbers then? Was it really sold in 2014 for $83k and back in 2004 sold for $139k? Any help understanding all this would be greatly appreciated. 

THanks!

To further this, I found another property in the same neighborhood listed as FSBO, at $230,000. Yet this same county assessors page says the market value is only $111,000. Is this normal to have the market value at 50% of the asking price?

If this is the same as my area then Qualified means an actual sale transaction and Unqualified is not an actual sales transaction but something like a warranty deed that was filed. Most of the unqualified in my area I have seen as some sort of deed that was issued and filed.

From the description this is a townhouse/villa that generally results to a multi-sale. There are also sub-divisions that are SFR(single family residential) that can also be listed as multi-sale when the area is built by a developer. Since I don't see those particular terms for the 2001 sale, I would guess this was the beginning of the development for these units/property. This is what I would guess the 17million represents and may/would be listed on every property record in this development.

You may or may not always see Market and Assessed value be the same figure. At least in my area and I would think in others as well.

I googled these for simplistic definitions: