Buying a vacation rental

5 Replies

Hello BP community,

I have a question with regard to vacation rentals in Panama City Beach. Should I wait for the market to go down, or should I invest now? I see the properties in $250K that cost $180k two years ago. Please give me the advise.

Tony, it is very helpful to have some more relevant information in order to properly weigh in.

Here are some questions that can help guide you more towards what you're looking for.

Why do you want a vacation rental there? What are the returns? What kind of occupancy do they experience? What's going on with local sentiment / zoning regulations regarding vacation rentals? Do you have a team put together to run the rental? Are you prepared to come out of pocket a lot of money to furnish the property? Where is Panama in their real estate cycle?

Hi guys! I am a real estate broker in Panama City Beach. I have been a broker for 12 years and just recently moved here from the Tampa area BECAUSE the market here is one of the strongest in terms of growth in the state. 

We have a very unique market here in that they made the choice to not build hotels on the beach but condos. The vast majority of vacationers stay in condos. Many have been coming to the same one for generations. The condo market is unique and the vacation rental market is also unique. We have dozens of property management companies that will range in price from 10% to 30% and have as wide an array of occupancy/profit and quality of management. I believe you truly get what you pay for in this particular case so property management in each building is an important consideration. 

You cannot judge all 2/2 or 1/1's the same. Nor can you judge by price. Every building has it's attractiveness and it's drawbacks.