House Hacking Question

5 Replies

Hi,

I'm a newbie investor with one property that I lived in for 2 years and now I'm cash flowing $600/month on it. The deal literally fell into my lap a few years ago and I'm dying to do more.

I found a distressed and vacant property that my wife and I would love to house hack and live in for a couple of years. I found it last year and after a lot of work, tracked down the owner. She was extremely difficult and essentially said that if I wasn't willing to get her loan current, pay all the liens/judgements ($30k+), pay attorney fees, etc, which shockingly nobody she'd talked to yet was willing to do, then she'd just let it get foreclosed on. It is now in pre-foreclosure and I'm trying to understand my options.

Option A) Buy at the foreclosure options. My understanding is that banks will usually start the minimum bid somewhere around whatever is still owed on the property. Is that an accurate statement? Obviously they want to recapture the greatest amount they can. Which in this case the property is worth less than what I believe to be outstanding on the loan Hi,

I'm a newbie investor with one property that I lived in for 2 years and now I'm cash flowing $600/month on it. The deal literally fell into my lap a few years ago and I'm dying to do more.

I found a distressed and vacant property that my wife and I would love to house hack and live in for a couple of years. I found it last year and after a lot of work, tracked down the owner. She was extremely difficult and essentially said that if I wasn't willing to get her loan current, pay all the liens/judgements ($30k+), pay attorney fees, etc, which shockingly nobody she'd talked to yet was willing to do, then she'd just let it get foreclosed on. It is now in pre-foreclosure and I'm trying to understand my options.