Nice house, nice location, nice neighbor, but not a nice spot

6 Replies

Hi BP,

I am looking out for my first deal to start my house hacking and rental property investment in Southern California. I am very new in the industry so please comment alot , I want to learn.

I came across this deal and the price, the number of units, and the location seem to fit what I need.

https://www.redfin.com/CA/Baldwin-Park/12877-Salis...

This is a multiple family property with 2 units, in which I want to house hack the back house and rent the front house. Not sure if it is a house hack if I have to pay out of pocket every months for half of the mortgage. 

The pro : 

• checked it out the house, like it (7.5 out of 10), still need to do some work on front unit
  • see the potential of expanding it, since 12000 sq 
  • good school around, and quite neighbors 

The cons:

• the power line is right in the back
  • the is a huge power connector in front of the house
  • dead end of the drive way
  • hard to sell I presume
  • hard to get tenant because of the power line

Anyone think this is a good investment property, and what do you think about the power line.

Thanks much,

Updated almost 2 years ago