• Investor
  • Seattle, WA
Votes |
Need advice on my North Seattle rental

Alex Lucille
  • Investor
  • Seattle, WA
Posted Aug 23 2017, 10:30

Newbie here, looking for advice on how to evaluate my current rental.  My goal is to use a buy-and-hold strategy to develop cash-flow properties over the next 10 years by investing 30-50k/year while still working full-time.  Specifically looking at whether my plan should be to hold this rental for the long-term and eventually do a 1031 exchange once its fully depreciated or sell it within the next two years to take advantage of the tax-free capital gains.

Details:

Location/description: North Seattle 1400 sq foot 3br/2ba 3 story townhome built in 2009, rough neighborhood on the border of a good one to the south.

Address: 1238 n northgate way seattle, wa 98133

Purchased as primary residence in 2014 for $360k with $72k down, $65/mo HOA which covers landscaping and governance

In 2016 after meeting 2yr occupancy req., property appraised for $475k so we pulled 70k our by refinancing into a 30yr @3.75% with a principal+interest payment of $1600 + 300 for taxes and insurance and rented it out for $2500/mo, renter pays utilities, we manage the property, new loan amt is $340k.

Other identical townhomes in our development and others like it have sold for $600k, so I would say that I could conceivably sell the home once the current lease is up and walk away with $200k factoring in all selling costs.

I expect that we will be able to raise rent to 2700-2900 in the next 2 years or so and possibly up to 3200 in 2021 as there is a light rail being constructed that will drive a lot of demand from people commuting to downtown seattle.

Specific Questions: