Duplex House Hacking

41 Replies

Is it a good deal to get a duplex (for the purpose of house hacking) if you paying small amount from your pocket every month to cover all the costs?

Beginner here looking to get into my first duplex/househack as soon as I graduate in December. To precede my reply.. Of course, making money and becoming financially free is the reason we are looking at real estate in the first place..

With that being said, I am looking into a duplex, 4x2/side, that would carry around $1178/mo in expenses (including cap-ex, vacancy, repair costs put aside/mo) and would bring in 1000/mo in rental income. As a 22 yo and beginning investor looking for a house hack, I do not mind breaking even or even spending a little bit out-of-pocket per month. This is simply because I know that I am still saving a tremendous amount on living expenses, and it will be cash-flowing something serious once I get out of there. Everyone has their own criteria in regard to cash flow, ROI, yadayada, but I think simply not having to pay housing is pretty cool as well.

@Kendall Short

Yeah, I have a similar plan and graduated last year. I live in Pinole CA and it is really expensive. I do not want to invest far in the beginning so house hacking will be the right thing to do for me TOO. 

I calculated  numbers on some of the properties and I saw that I will have to pay some money out of my pockets but way less than my current rent. 

Do you think a triplex or fourplex will be better than duplex? 

I think most people here will say bigger is better. It just depends on what you can finance and how many tenants you’re willing to take on. With a duplex HH, you are depending on the property to always be full. If not, you’re paying the entire mortgage. With a 3 or 4, you can have a vacant unit and still have some rental income coming in to help out with the pay down.

It all comes down to whether it’s a great deal or not.