Multi-Family Purchase Analysis

14 Replies

I am new to BiggerPockets but looking for a second or third opinion on a multi-family purchase analysis in Fort Wayne, Indiana area.  I am looking at a 15-unit property.  I have run it through the BP Calculator using expenses provided by seller and some of my own assumptions.  Current monthly income is $10,225, my assumed operating expenses (excluding loan pmts) are $4,996.  Is there a quick way to calculate what I should offer or ultimately pay?  The property is off-market and this was the result of a letter so the owner is not extremely motivated to sell.

So many questions...

So, total income is ~$10k or the NOI (net operating income) is ~$10k?

Gross income currently is $10,225 & expenses are $4,996 so NOI is $5,229. I have used the BP calculators & some of the guidelines recommended by Brandon turner but I'm not getting the same results he recommends so I'm trying to decide if I take the plunge or forgo the deal until I have a larger down payment. I want to get into sheriff sales in order to flip a few to put more money down on MF but this deal came along and I haven't been able to get any traction at the sales.

@Kris Miller

There really isn't a quick way to determine what to pay.... There are a lot of moving parts to multis. I would first verify the owner supplied expenses. My next move would be to determine your market cap. This will tell you what it is worth and most likely will sell for..

I would then go back to the expenses and income. Is there a way to reduce expenses?? Boiler upgrade? L.e.d fixtures? Low flow showers, 1.6 toilets? Is your garbage contractor fair? Is your snow/lawn contractor fair? Is there room to appeal your assessment?? Can you do better on insurance? Find something you can improve on..

I would next move to income... Are they at market? Could the units/building use any cosmetic upgrades that would merit higher rents? Can you improve on the occupency?? Better marketing?