Vacancy Rate Analysis

2 Replies

Hi .. I'm just starting to look into real estate as an investment and I'm trying to understand vacancy rates.  The town I'm looking at, all data states an 11% vacancy rate but if you look closer, the Houses for rent show a < 3% vacancy rate.  Is this the number I should be looking at?  What sources do you use to look at vacancy rate?

Hi Lisa! 

I've got no experience with investing yet so far but I'll give you my knowlegde so far. In a situation like this it only takes a phone call to any real estate agent nearby. They're the ones who knows the best up to date numbers. Getting numbers through online can sometimes be sketchy and out of date at most times. 

But if you're only trying to find a rough estimates to use it to calculate for your potential property then I'll suggest you to research what the crime rate is. Or what is the population in that area. Or what the median income of that area is. Remember people with less income usually tends not to be a long term tenants, which can mess up your vacancy numbers. 

In the case of estimates, I usually put it in 5% in my neighborhood. But if you feel that those criteria isn't met, then maybe increase your vacation rate. It doesn't hurt to be a little conservative. 

All the best Lisa! :))))))