Long distance rental property

19 Replies

I'm looking to buy property outside my market and the realtor I'm dealing with asked that I sign an exclusive Rights to represent a contract is that a good idea to sign or not Since he is doing a lot of the legwork

@David Goldberg as an investor friendly realtor myself, I can tell you that many out of state investors are just tire kickers. Your realtor probably feels that the exclusive right to represent gives him more protection before investing time into your deals. I personally don't do this, but I can understand wanting to vet some one and get something signed saying you can represent them before looking at a bunch of properties. 

By the way, have you begun looking at property management? I purchased a 20 unit apartment complex in South Bend, Indiana last year, and I now tell every investor looking out of state to start by identifying potential third party management companies. This is by far the most important thing you can do! Buying a property can be relatively easy from a far. Managing from a far can be a nightmare!

@John Warren I have not gotten a property manager yet it. I'm not planning on managing it from were I am that would be impossible. With regards to the contract I believe in my case it would be a good idea " tell me if I'm wrong" this guy isbrhe only realtor that I have reached out to and I have tried a bunch that DAILY sends me mostly solid deals, and he is my only solid contact in the area. I feel that if I don't sign it for 6 month I will loss the contact and start all over again. And to be honest I'm looking for my first deal and I'm only looking for that first property it's not like  jm ganna buy 2 in 6 months .

I'm sorry for the spelling my phone has auto correct.

@lane kawaoka