Help with Analyzing Property

5 Replies

I recently found a potential rental home in southeast Texas. 2 bed, 1 bath and 1064 sqft. Asking price is 65k. Now, I have zero experience other than reading a lot of articles over the past few months and I'm in need of some input. I anticipate putting around 10k in renovations. My questions are:

(1)Do you think this is a viable unit in terms of cash flow? Rent would need to be at least 750 to meet the 1% rule (would hope for more), but I'm concerned that will be too expensive for the size of the house.

(2) Considering flood insurance, taxes, home insurance, etc., will all these extra fees eat away any returns? I'm unsure of the actual values currently.

You should talk to a lender if you haven't already then you will have exact numbers that you can plug into a mortgage calculator to help you determine cash flow.  I'm not sure about your area of Texas, but here in Southern California I don't bother with flood insurance as it is far too expensive, I stick with standard non owner occupant policy.  Taxes should also be easily calculated by looking them up on the county website or asking your Realtor.  Also to get an idea of what insurance will cost call an insurance agent and ask.  The same goes for potential rental value in the area, you can call a local property manager and ask or you can look up similar homes for rent on sites like zillow or rentometer.  If it were me I would do a bit more research before you pull the trigger on anything.

Hi there @Sam Evans Welcome to SETX investing. Look for some BP instructional videos by Brandon Turner. He's got some good ones on rental property analysis and buying older properties.