Looking for some advice on a property I'm looking at.

5 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets community!

I'm brand new to the world of Bigger Pockets and real estate investing and would like some input and advice on a property I'm looking at. It's a duplex and each unit has 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, a garage space, and laundry hookups in each units basement. It's currently rented out at $640 a unit, but I believe I believe rents should be closer to $700-$725 range. They're asking $115,000 for it and I would like to know if that's a good deal or not. My idea is to "house hack" for a couple years and live in one of the units then eventually move out and rent the unit out. I'm planning on using an FHA "first time home owners" loan for the purchase. What are your thoughts?

A good deal to you won't necessarily be the same as a good deal for others. Does it make sense to you?

You don't list the expenses or condition (siding, roof, appliance age, furnace/AC age, dated vs outdated condition of units, etc), neighborhood info, whether tenants pay utilities themselves, or anything else. Without those, I can't tell you if it'd be a good deal for me. 

it certainly passes the napkin test @Leo Perera . I purchased a duplex very similar to this one a couple years ago, increased rents overtime and is one of my best cash flowing properties. Key things to check (1) age of HVAC units (2) if on septic, age of tank and last time it was pumped.