How much Equity Should I Offer My Partner?

6 Replies

Hello everyone,

I've been investing for 10 years with multifamily, but never built from the ground up. I'm about to get in my first 4 unit apartment development project and have zero experience.  I have the capital and assets to get a loan for the land + construction cost, but again, zero experience.

My potential partner has developed numerous properties because he works for a national home building. He understands how to get through the county, present and get projects approved. He knows the cost, timeline and can take it to the finish line. He does not have cash to contribute to the loan and is not financially capable of guaranteeing the loan. 

The plan is for us to acquire the land, build the property, lease it and when the construction loan turns to a permanent loan, hold and move onto the next project. After we build, the holding period is where my operational experience will come into play. 

How much equity and/or consult fee should I pay him? I plan to do multiple deals with him so the deal we cut now will lead into the future. It might be worth mentioning that he is the the one who found the the land we're about to buy.

Thank you! 

@Quy Huynh   Are you guaranteeing the loan and putting 100% of the funds that will finance the development?  If so, why would you give up equity and not just pay your partner their usual fee.  With additional developments you can leverage better pricing and also other developers because they will take you more seriously.  It sounds likes there is such a small window your partner can help with that this seems to be the only play that makes sense.  10 years from now when the building is still making money and you are essentially paying them for work they did ages ago, you will be asking yourself why you gave up equity.