Advice for income property in Dayton OH?

9 Replies

Does anybody have any advice on Dayton Ohio? Especially the rental market, focusing on 2-4 unit income property. I'm looking at St. Anne's Hill, South Park and Huffman, but also perhaps a little further from downtown, including the Eastern Hills neighborhood.

Thank you!

I'm sure some Dayton people will chime in and provide great advice, but as an Air Force veteran, I can tell you the base there employs and brings in thousands of people every year, and with them being there for a short period of time and earning a decent salary, they make fantastic tenants.  If you end up getting a property/properties there, see if they still have the webpage "AHRN" - From what I remember it was a website set up specifically to list rental properties for military folks living in the area.  

Good luck!

Dave

Hi @Chris Kirshbaum ,

Generally spoken the Dayton market is a good one for cashflow, but as in any market you can go wrong. I think the areas you are mentioning are for sure offering potential for good cash flow, but it will be important to know where in the areas your properties are. I personally feel there is a low inventory for 2-4 unit multi's, which has actually driven up the price of these units. For a good option you would have to be able to move quick, as there is some good competition.

If you have any specific questions feel free to send me a message!

Good luck,

Tommy

I have a rental in Dayton zip 45405. I have been pleased with my tenants.  Good screening is the best advice I have.  I am looking to purchase a second one there next month.

I personally live and invest in Dayton and wouldn’t want to invest anywhere else. If you want a local perspective drop me a line and I’d be happy to give you my two cents 

I have two properties I am looking at in Dayton and would love to network and discuss with people