Structuring a Fix & Flip Deal

7 Replies

Hi, I am a newbie investor and my partner and I are trying to begin with a flip of a SFR. Since this would be our first deal and we don't want to use our minimal savings , I was wondering what anyone's thoughts are on financing a Flip this way:

Find a hard money lender to fund the project cost (purchase price + rehab cost) and find an equity partner to fund the holding cost payments (interest to hard money lender, property tax, insurance, etc.) and offer him/her 20% of the profit. 

This way, hard money lender gets his 8-12% interest regardless and the equity partner would only have to pay $1-5K in holding costs for the 3-4 month rehab period and assuming we make a $30K profit, that's $6K for the partner (potential of 100% +cash on cash return). 

Let me know your thoughts! Thanks! 

@Lakshmi Nikitha Duggirala Congrats on taking on your first deal! You're on the right track with the idea of leveraging others capital to gap fund the difference of what a hard money lender will require to do a deal. This is how I took on a few of my first flips as well. However, there are some things to consider in today's market.

You'll want to prepare to bring 10-25% of total project costs as a form of down payment (on top of monthly holding costs) to do a deal - especially if it's your first. Most lenders will finance 80-90% of purchase price and 100% of rehab funds up to about 65-75% of resale value.

For example, If a deal is $150,000 with purchase price and rehab, expect to bring $15-$30k to do the deal assuming the loan value does not exceed 70-75% of resale value. Any amount above that % will be required out of pocket by the borrower. In essence, prepare your private equity partner to bring more skin in the game if necessary to do these deals.