Cap rate, pro forma cap rate, cash on cash ROI?

7 Replies

Though I’m not new to investing, I am new to formally analyzing deals. And...I don’t know what to look at anymore. When I run analyses, I don’t understand which figure to focus on to see if the investment is a good deal or not. Do I look at cap rate, pro forma cap rate, cash on cash ROI, or does it depend on what type of deal it is (i.e.: rental, flip, BRRR)? Or, in what scenarios/instances do each of these matter more or less? I’ve Googled what each means and I understand, but can’t seem to apply these concepts to my analyses. Thanks in advance!

@Aaron McCarty if you look at the formulas/metrics in isolation then the numbers don’t mean much.

The formulas/numbers is all relative, especially as everyone/business has different goals and risk tolerance.

Compare the results to the alternative, example: compare the historical stock market return on blue chips to an A class area. Caps rates (assuming no debt) are probably around 5%-8%. Whereas, your return on the alternative is 2-3%.

Same thing when comparing A class properties to C class. Determine how fast you want your money to grow and the time you want to hold your money in the investment (break even in years), relative to the risk of each. Then compare the numbers to decide which fits your goal more. Some people don’t mean a lower cap as the investment is usually the safest and the stock market return is lower. On the other side some people don’t mind the risk for a much higher turn of their money.

Define goals for your money. Then find a property/investment which meets or exceeds that goal.

I’ll add piggyback onto @Aaron McCarty ’s question... what’s the difference between pro forma Cap rate and Cap rate? 

P.S. Bald Guy Properties is a phenomenal name 😂😂😂

I think these are great questions and I wrestled with it for a while until I just finally got over it by realizing what I wanted.