Help Analyze 85% Remodeled Almost Vacant 8 unit and Build 8 More

8 Replies

Hey all,

Long post. Questions at the bottom. Thanks in advance.
I'm still new to investing, as I only have 1 SFH so far. I was brought a pre-market deal of an 8 unit property (two 4 unit buildings) with the plan of adding another 8 units; a site plan was done previously. I believe there is more room on the property to add washer/dryer facilities and/or small playground. It is in an in demand school district and consistently safe town. I have only walked the property so far.

Property has been mostly vacant since at least Dec. of 2016. Six units have been remodeled about 90%; one unit is only about 30% but includes kitchen cabinets and appliances. One unit occupied. My biggest concern is the HVAC systems, the roof will likely need replaced within a few years, and the asphalt parking lot likely needing to be redone. Landscaping is also some concern. Exterior will require minor repairs.

Asking price is $225k. Built in 1968. Seven units are 2/1 about 725sq ft. Occupied one unit is 1/1 about 425sq ft. Only refrigerator and stove; no dishwasher or w/d hookups. Comparable 2/1 rentals currently listed are $550 and $575. Previous taxes were about $3725.

My initial questions are: Do I make a really low offer assuming I need to replace HVAC, redo parking lot, and replace roof? How would you estimate a cost of the future 8 units?

Let me know if you want any additional info. Thank you all.

Ryan

I would do your own pro forma. Figure out what the NOI is and use a stabilized cap for the area. Once you arrive at market value I would work backwards and minus what those capital improvements will be. Even at this point it will not be the value because the units are vacant I believe? The tricky part is to decide how much value do you minus to fill in those empty units. To me this will come down to negotiations. No real rule of thumb here. Likely based on how badly you want it or seller needing to unload.