4-Plex Deal Analysis. What am I missing?

9 Replies

Hello, I am looking at fourplexes in the Kansas City, MO area. First, I want to preface this analysis by saying that I am fairly new to running reports and I have not spoken with a bank nor have I been pre-approved for any loan, still I have good credit so I made a conservative guess on the interest rate and loan points. All that being said, I' have come across a property that seems like a great deal but I want to get other opinions and see if I'm missing anything.

$145,000PURCHASE PRICE

Purchase Closing Costs$2,000.00
Estimated Repairs$20,000.00
Total Project Cost$167,000.00
After Repair Value$170,000.00
Down Payment$7,250.00
Loan Amount$141,882.50
Loan Points$4,132.50
Amortized Over30 years
Loan Interest Rate5.400%
Monthly P&I$796.71
Total Cash Needed$29,250.00
Monthly income:
Rent:$3,500.00
Other:$0.00

Total operating expenses:Mortgage expenses:
Vacancy:$350.00Repairs:$350.00
CapEx:$350.00PMI:$40.00
Garbage:$20.00Insurance:$56.00
Management:$350.00P&I:$796.71
Property Taxes:
Total Monthly Income:$3,500.00
x50% for Expenses:$1,750.00
Monthly Payment/Interest Payment:$796.71
Total Monthly Cashflow using 50% Rule:$953.29

I made conservative estimates on everything. With these numbers this property would give me almost $240 per month per door. So what am I missing? Should I get approved for a loan and put in an offer tomorrow?

Andrew, these numbers look solid however you will have hard time getting this property for 5% down unless you are planning to occupy one of the 4 units, do you have a bank that will do this?