Starting my 90 day challenge! Please help me analyze this deal.

16 Replies

Hello, 

I am just getting started in real estate and am new to analyzing deals. I have not done a walk though of this property and put estimates up for the repair cost. If that the right approach or should I do the walk through, run numbers, then put an offer in? Please help! 

Any input on my analysis would be wonderful. Thank you in advanced.

View report

*This link comes directly from our calculators, based on information input by the member who posted.

Best Regards,

Annie Levan 

@Annie Levan

You say you haven't done a walk through of this property and just put estimates up for the repair costs. Where are these repair numbers coming from than? Is it a wholesale deal where the wholesaler is providing them? Are you estimating based on pictures of the property from the MLS? Is it some other way?

I would say before you make any offers you would want to see the property in person. You'll want to make sure your budget for repairs is accurate. From what I see, the two biggest issues when flipping is 1. Not calculating the ARV correctly and 2. Underestimating repair costs. Make sure those are 100% in check. Hopefully, you find this helpful!

My preference for a flip would be to walk the property with a contractor you trust, run the estimate, place an offer at a desired margin if the asking will not work.

• I don't have your comps so the obligatory question - is your ARV accurate?
  • Why is landscaping your #2 expense item?
  • Your expenses look rather precise, where did you derive estimates?
  • Why are you holding for 6 months, are you planning on doing work yourself or hiring?
  • How are you funding?

Where is this property located? It has reinforced front door (bars) which tells me this is not a nice neighborhood.

Why holding costs are $2000/mo? What exactly are you paying for?

Closing costs of $5000 seem to be high. What do they include?