Help me analyze this deal. I am new to using the calculator.

8 Replies

@Penny Muniak - it looks fine to me. Two modifications I'll suggest:

1. Is there a yard and if so, who maintains? If on you, I'd add maintenance....maybe $50/mo. 

2. It is highly unlikely that taxes on a $30k property run you over $2000/year. Verify taxes: that $189/mo could easily be $25/mo. That will dramatically affect your cash flow. 

Your $155/mo positive cashflow could realistically be $250-270/mo. 

Good luck!

@Tchaka Owen   not sure if she is planning to keep this property long term for rental income, but assuming she does, would you still recommend investing in small deals like this?

Despite the apparent cap rate, managing expenses on tiny deals seems super critical- A roof, HVAC or septic tank problem seems much easier to absorb on a similar sized property in a higher value/rent area.

... or am I wrong, and these are still good investments for long term holders?

Capex is low $435 a year. If you have to replace a roof you will have to have other reserves to pay for it. Vacancy is low I use 10%. Water and sewer seems low also but I don't your area. Usually it is 20 to 25% down not 5% on investment property. Rerun with new numbers and see if it still cask flows.

@Penny Muniak   Thanks for sharing!   Got lots of questions on this though.  :)  

The house is listed $44,900 so not sure how you are pulling off the $30k purchase price and only 5% down?  Also, from the pictures I see a LOT more than $1000 in repairs needed.  Your rent seems low so perhaps you are going to just rent it 'as-is' and not do any rehab but you will reap what you sow on that as far as the quality of tenant you are going to get.  

This property actually looks like it would do pretty well if you just rehabbed it and brought up the rents.  See below.  Good luck!    

@Penny Muniak