Creative ideas needed: reframing the roof

5 Replies

Hi All,

I have a trouble to decide how to re-frame the roof. I had several discussions with framers and architects by could not come into a conclusion on what is the best. Here is my drawings (can't share the actual drawings as of yet). But this is just to get an idea. I need to raise the ceiling over the flat roof. What would be the cheapest and the most acceptable option? Most of the people I saw said that it is better to continue the pitched roof with smaller pitch (see in red). But this does not look satisfactory to me. What would you do?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vdz...

I'm no structural engineer or architect but looking at the drawing, Is it possible to pitch the roof where the high point connects the center of the wall with the fireplace to the other pitched roof?  Otherwise if you pitch it to be parallel with the other section, any rain that falls on that (right) side will run towards the main part of the house and that could encourage eventual bad leaks, mold etc.. The best roof design gets the water away from the house as efficiently as possible.

Why are you trying to go around the professionals you hired and get solutions here? Thats how you piss them off. There is a couple dozen pieces of key information that those sketches you provided dont have. You could get 100 different suggestions here and none of them would work because of unknown conditions and specific circumstances that surround your house. 

My advice - go to your architect and sit down and figure out a good solution. I know theres more than one option here that could work. But just because you don't like what they have come up with doesnt mean you can just get any idea and make it work. You are going to back yourself into a corner that really going to hurt both your professional relationships and your wallet.