If you had $8000, but poor credit, what's your REI strategy?

8 Replies

BP, hello family. I am a novice REI investor. 2012 was not the best year for me, and my credit score was damaged. 2013 is starting off bright, and I want to make an investment.

If you had $8000, but poor credit, what would your REI strategy be? I'm not looking for an owner occupied deal, I'm already wrapped up in a 1 year lease for a townhome.

Lease Purchase/Option on a property, then rent the place out to a qualified renter?

Purchase a Tax Lien Certificate on the steps of the courthouse?

Let me know what you would do. Thanks a lot.

I would buy fix and sell house. Dont know of a faster easier way to make a lot of money, legally.

I would borrow all the money for the projects, keep the 8,000 for emergencies, or to live on until house sale payday, unless you have a job with regular income.

Its a lot easier to borrow money and run projects when you have a bit of a cushion if/when something goes wrong.

Thats me, dont know what you skill talent or interest level is. If its handyman or project management, rehabbing may be your best bet.

Its going to be awfully tough to borrow 100% of the deal (purch plus rehab) when they have bad credit and very little reserves.

I would suggest wholesaling to build up your reserves while you work on your credit. And maybe try finding some subject to deals so you can add properties.

Subject to has always sounded like a lot of work and a very slippery slope but it would be a way for you to add properties. My only concern with subject to is that, from what I understand, you typically end up paying more money for those than a typical foreclosure so your cash flow is a lot tighther.