My first deal a Multifamily 6 unit

9 Replies

my friend wants me to invest together with him in a multifamily 6 unit building, 

is it a good deal?

income 

Unit 1 $1,400

Unit 2 $1,100

Unit 3 $1,100

Unit 4 $900

Unit 5 vacant

Unit 6 Vacant

Parking $200

Total Income as of today is $4,700 a month, with the other 2 vacant apartments renting for $1,100 each it will be a total income a month $6,900

(he claims that he can get from all apartments at least $1,500 a month)

taxes is about $10,000 a year

Purchase price is $670,000.00

is it a good deal? It's my first deal and I don't want to mess it up on my first deal

its in Elizabeth NJ 

should I do it?

@Menachem Bloom Glad to Here fellow BP looking into deals. So I am new to investing. These our my thoughts. There is a lot of more information needed example all operating cost example insurance,utilities,vacancy, repairs to name a few. Did the owner provide rent roll and expense report ? What is your financing strategy ? 25% down,BRRRR, owner financing just to name a few. So there is more information needed to give an educated opinion. Let me if there is anything I can do to help remember I am a new investor too lol.

@Menachem Bloom it depends on if the building is registered with rent control or not.  if it is registered, the units already have a rent amount on file and you cannot jack it up with a new tenant unless renovations are made. usually you wont have a problem with a brand new tenant especially if you are at market rent.  how many bedrooms are the units?

Hey @Menachem Bloom I am also in Elizabeth and the first thing that caught my eye is the $10,000 in taxes. For a six-unit. That's incredible in this area. Most duplexes are $12,000+, so I imagine that building is under some type of either rent control or other program.