Help with first Rental Purchase in Las Vegas

8 Replies

Noob here. I am looking at my first rental property purchase in the Las Vegas area. I am looking at a class A, SFH. Can someone help me analyze this deal and if it makes sense, or am I being silly? I feel like its a bit tight, but the market in Vegas has been crazy.

Purchase price: $785k

Down Payment: $237k

Monthly PITI: $2961

CapEx: $75

I am looking to get 5k in rent monthly.

Thoughts?

Hi Aren,

If I were you, I would take Brandon Turner's advice and analyze at least 50 deals before you even considering making an offer on one. If you are not able to run your own numbers, you are gambling not investing. Taking action is great and all but you absolutely can not rely on others when it comes to this part specifically.

I know it is not the answer you were looking for but I hope it helps you in the long run.

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

@Aren Kern your targeted rent rate seems high. Recently rents have been averaging 1/2% of the purchase price. For example, in Vegas a home worth $800k should rent for $4k. With that being said rents continue to rise. Last month I purchased 2508 Ashley Rose Terrace in Henderson for $525k and tested a $2,995 rent rate and secured a quality tenant at this higher rent rate. Previous rent comps were closer to $2,500 (supply/demand still askew in our market). 

Thanks all for the feedback. I do get the notion that the rent I am targeting is a bit high. I think it will ultimately be cash flow positive but the question is by how much and if that is a good place to put my capital. One of the challenges I have is that there doesn't seem to be a good way to get comps for rent. There is Zillow, and rentometer (which seems to be awfully low), but without access to MLS I'm not left with a good option.