15K fixer upper deal?? What to do?

6 Replies

I found a house for sale for 15K.

It will need roof replaced because water leaks into the two bedrooms. It will need sheet rock replaced in the bedrooms as well.

Needs new carpet. New kitchen sink and bathroom sink.
Those are the major repairs that it needs.

I have to get rid of a storage shed as well.

The market value of the houses around it range from 34K-47K

What should I do next?
I was thinking about checking with some hard money lenders to see if they will lend for this.

Mind you, i'm just starting out in this business.

First get an exact ARV that you think it will sell for. Next get an exact repair estimate from multiple contractors, then run your numbers. I wouldn't talk to an HML until you know if its a deal or not.

See the thing is until you have an ARV and a repair estimate you don't know if its a deal or not.

So let's say you can sell it for 34K and your repairs are going to be 15K. Well then 15K isn't a good purchase price. Actually if that were the case I probably wouldn't give more than $3,000 for the house. If you use the standard 70% minus repairs rule on that, take into account that your profit margin is normally about 15% of the ARV for a semi-experienced rehabber. That means you would be doing the whole 15K rehab job for about $5,000. That's not a good idea. There's not enough room for error there. I personally wouldn't use rehab to retail as my primary exit strategy on a project that needed any type of significant remodeling unless I had at least 10K sitting on the table for profit.

I would recommend that you make up a detailed list of what you would want done to the property and then get at least 3 contractors over there to give you a bid. At that point you will have an idea of what it will really cost you.

Thanks so much for the advice.

I have a question? How do I find a very good (exact) esitmate of the ARV?
Should I call a realtor up and ask them?