I am a beginner who is looking for advice.

28 Replies

Hello, I'm 19 and am currently in the military. I'm looking to buy rental property once I finish my contract and I could use some advice if anyone is willing to share. I have a good amount of money saved up and I am currently working on my credit score. How should I approach buying a house should I save up my money or should I borrow a loan from the bank? Also what would I really have to take into consideration before buying property and selling it to others?

Hey @Devin Samuels ! That's so awesome that you're looking to get started in real estate, wish I would've gotten in when I was your age.

You're probably going to want to have both cash saved up as well as leveraging banks to finance properties, and actually there are some pretty good financing options available to members of the military. However, I would say that the most important things you could do at this point are:

1. Listen to the BP podcast regularly. It's a great way to get your head around all the different ways to invest in real estate, get to know the terminology used by RE investors, and start getting ideas on what you can do.

2. Learn as much as you can about real estate by reading books and hanging out here on the forums.

3. Get out and meet other investors in your area that are having success. Find meet ups and connect with people here on BP.

Best of luck as you're getting started and exploring the world of real estate investing, it's not something you can jump into overnight, but you're starting in the right spot and building a solid foundation.

Thank you Brandon Pelfrey. I appreciate your advice sir. I was researching the basics of what to do when purchasing property and I wrote a list of things that would need to be taken in consideration. Can you give it a look over if you have the time? This is just a scenario that I brought up.

Home cost is $200000. Here is what must take into consideration.

1.Income:

Rental income=$2000