Learning to Manage Property

18 Replies

I am weeks away from closing on my first duplex.

I would like to work with a property manager to learn how to properly manage my duplex.

I have no property managing experience so how do I create value for a them, so that I may be able to work with and learn from them?

Thank you!

I think many professional property managers (those who manage other people's properties) will hesitate to help you beyond giving you very generic and basic information due to the fact that most of them are licensed.

The best bet might be to network with local landlords and get some advice from them. A lot of landlords love to help other landlords. 

Also, regardless of what you ended up doing, education on your own is very important also. They are reading books, understanding federal, state, and local laws, etc. 

Also, get forms ready, have a lit of vendors, have processed from start to finish, and there's more of course.

@Filip Reutov

I self manage all of my properties. I had no experience when I started. I listened to a lot of podcast and read books and I felt I knew enough. I still learned a great deal, but managing yourself is the best way to learn and you can pay yourself the pm fee for your own time. It's the best way to learn. Have an attorney on your team so you can ask legal questions and use this site to ask questions. In my experience, if the property is in good condition and you select good tenants it takes very little time to manage. The most time you will spend is filling a unit. Most important aspect is screening tenants. Make sure your rent is at market rent or just under. Compare your unit to your competition. Depending on your market it's not that difficult. I typically can fill most of my SFR with 2 weeks sometimes less. My small multi-units take a little longer.

Hey Filip,

Like @Kenneth Garrett , I didn't know anything when I started. I definitely didn't think I would be in property management!