Investing in Northern Ontario

21 Replies

Hello,

I'm new to the form and I was just wondering if there are any investors that invest in Northern Ontario on here. I personnally invest in Timmins, On.

Thanks,

Nathan

Welcome Nathan to Biggerpockets.

I get as far as Muskoka, haha I know of some investors who have invested in Thunder Bay and Sudbury.

What do you invest up in Timmins?

Ahh thats good I used to live in Sudbury when I went to school. I've invested in 3 SFH's, a duplex and a fourplex now in the two years I've been here.

Hey not bad portfolio. When I speak with my investor friend I can introduce you guys. Might benefit both of you.

How is the cashflow in your local market?

It's been pretty unreal. Bought a SFH that cash flows about 450$/month. Just finished rehabbing another single family home that will cash flow about 350-400$ a month. The fourplex still needs a lot of work and is pretty much break even at this point due to a number of things : a long waiting eviction, below market rents and some deferred maintenance as I have just acquired it in Dec. 2013

The prices were really low to buy property and there was very little available rental units when I moved here so it's been just great

sounds like you have a good pocket to grow over the next few years. Great to hear. Keep us updated over bigger pockets.

I've always looked, but never took the plunge into buying anything north of cottage country. So do you live in Sudbury now?

No, I'm living in Timmins still but the prices have climbed quite a bit. I think it may be time to look into investing in a new market for me

Hey!