Landlord lawyer

6 Replies

Hi,

My name is William. I am a landlord based out of Toronto Ontario.

I was thinking of purchasing legal services and came across what seemed to be a pretty good one online.

http://www.landlordlawyer.ca/

I wanted to get your recommendation on whether this is a good service?

If not, who might you be able to recommend?

Thanks,

William

Thanks Steve.

I never thought of it that way but that is good to know!

I like it because it seems to be a useful insurance policy for not very much, but, it would be good to get some references first.

Hi William,

I am a lawyer practicing in Toronto. Interesting proposition you mention here.  Although I am not familiar with this service (so I can't really comment) - I do have to have to agree with Steve's sentiment. 

If I were you, it may make more sense to just connect directly with one or two licensed paralegals with experience before the LTB. I think paralegals have authority to handle landlord/tenant disputes. If you want more information, I recommend using the directory offered by the Law Society of Upper Canada. 

Best of luck!

Cory

@William Wong I agree with @Cory Macculloch . No need to subscribe to a legal service, but do interview a few paralegals who specialize in residential tenancy issues. Also, join a local residential landlord association, so that you're using best practices when screening potential tenants. It's the good old "ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure" situation. I used to represent myself for residential tenant problems, but the paralegals do it better and faster since that is their bailiwick.

Originally posted by @Cory Macculloch :

Hi William,

I am a lawyer practicing in Toronto. Interesting proposition you mention here.  Although I am not familiar with this service (so I can't really comment) - I do have to have to agree with Steve's sentiment.