What would you do with 200k in Toronto?

32 Replies

Hi all -

I'm new to real estate investing and to this great discussion board! Thanks to all for sharing your experience!

I have around 200k CAD and am looking at investing it in real estate in Toronto. I am 60 years old with a husband and 3 adult kids. Additionally, I am sitting on approximately 800k in equity in my current residence. I am somewhat scared of risk given my age. My goal is to grow a portfolio to include rental properties (for retirement income over time) and fix and sell as my husband is a contractor (we have flipped many years ago before it was sexy and made good profits back then). The investment properties would also be passed over to my kids and grandchildren to help contribute to their financial security.

Prices in Toronto have sky rocketed in recent years pushing me out of the market however, there has been some relief recently. 

@Jessica Labos

There are lots of options here. There's a few things I'd want to get a better idea of. Passing the properties down is a great goal. Living off the rental income will pose some challenges depending.

I have properties all over Hamilton & Niagara region - Would be happy to chat cash flow opportunities in those markets.

Are you open to other investment options like stocks or mutual funds ?  mutual funds better for older people who are looking for peace of mind rather than new challenges. However the return is less than more active investment like renting. 

Disclaimer : I am not subject matter in investing, just my two cents.

I’d suggest buy and hold if the wealth is to be passed on. 

A good strategy I’ve been following is buy, reno, refi and rent. This way you are able to pull out most of your investment and acquire more properties where you can add value. I do this mostly in Hamilton area. Happy to answer any questions you may have.