Provide and charge wifi?

11 Replies

I'm considering providing wifi for the tenants in my 12 unit building in NB. The plan would be to charge a fee that would be cheaper than what the tenant would otherwise pay but with enough margin to make to worth it for me.

I've yet to find anyone whos actually done it successfully, nor did I have much luck finding info online so I wondered if anyone here has. 

Curious to hear your guys experience or thoughts. 

Ryan

My first thought, after having kids who complain, is that the minute the wifi goes out for any reason, you are expected to fix it. People today can't handle not having wifi. Then it's gonna be asking for discounts for any amount of time it was down during the month, etc...

I provide internet and WiFi at my rooming house and I resell Internet and WiFi at one of my property and as Bill said: you will be expected the fix it and also you will be expected to provide really good internet and WiFi. Why do I do it? I am a network admin and I actually provide those 2 houses with enterprise solutions, so not only I provide them with something better they have ever experienced but there is also not much to go wrong and I don't mind supporting it. Something to keep in mind as well is most people that are not tech savy as soon as "something" goes wrong with their devices they will blame it on "the internet" or "the WiFi".

I would not advise going this route unless you have some experience in IT and don't mind supporting it.

Originally posted by @Ryan Kenneth :

Making service/ house calls could indeed be a pain.  Though wouldn't that be the responsibility of the property manager or the ISP ?

If you use the ISP hardware exclusively than it potentially could be but you would need to make sure they can access the account on your behalf... Might not be easy for them to place a service call if the account is under your name. I may be wrong but I'm not sure most property manager would want to support that either?