Should I wait or should I jump in right now?

14 Replies

Hi BP members,

I am a newbie, aspiring investor in RE. Here's my situation:

I own my residential house, located in Laval (Quebec), appraised at 350K, and still 50K left of mortgage to pay. With the current reimbursement schedule, mortgage is expected to be fully paid by the end of 2022. It's my only RE property.

Initially, I wanted to wait to be mortgage free before using  a portion of the equity on my house as down payment for a multiplex or any other multi-family/appartements, but I don't know anymore. I think I have made that decision just for the sake of finishing something before starting another. There's no real other logic behind it.

Can I already jump in the RE investment world now, or should I wait? What would you do? And if you would decide to go ahead and start hunting for income properties now, what precautions should be taken in my specific situation?

Thanks for your input.

You'd just be borrowing against your house to buy something else, so you would still have debt attached to your house just under a different name.  So I'd say start looking now and if you find something, buy it.

Lots of people have a mortgage on their primary residence and mortgage on a rental.  You will need 20% down payment for the rental. I would start by talking to the bank to find out how much you can borrow. That will also give you an idea of what type of property you can buy and how much of a down payment you need.

If I were in your place, I would get a heloc loan set up and start looking for a good deal. 

If/when I found a good deal I would jump at it. To be clear: I would be careful to not jump at just anything, but would carefully analyze and find something that I could justify using conservative numbers and then I would move quickly.

But I am not you. Obviously I don't know your whole situation and your concerns (or lack of concerns) surrounding debt and risk.