Is it Possible to Wholesale an on Market Deal?

7 Replies

Hello All!

I'm new to this community and have a ton of questions regarding wholesaling in RE. 

There is a home by me that I am interested in, it's in a great town and I know that it can produce a great profit for investors. The only problem for me is that it is currently on the market. As a newbie I have no cash to front the deal if I were to wholesale it (being that I have no POF for an all cash offer), but I was wondering if there is another way I could somehow get the deal under contract? or possibly present the location to an investor for a small profit?

I would love and truly appreciate any ideas! 

Thank you for taking your time to read and reply to my post!

You can wholesale on market deals, yes. There's a bit more to it since it's on the market and your investor could see the property themselves by searching it but as long as it's a good deal and you found it, it may not matter. You're almost bird dogging the property for them. Regarding getting it under contract, you may have to be upfront with the realtor about what you're doing to an extent but it can certainly be done if you ask the realtor to represent you as the buyer, if your state allows it, it's a good way to get tight with realtors when doing on market deals. 

Yes, you can, but it is a little tricky. You can use Transactional funding to get a POF letter. This works and will give you the ability to make a cash offer on it. You want to put as little Earnest Money in it as possible. When you have it under contract, you can look to wholesale it during your inspection period. Works best if it is vacant since other investors will be taking a look at it. You will want to get it well below the list price, otherwise most investors won't want to buy it because they are not getting a deal if you have it under contract at list price or above. They figure they could have just bought it themselves at list price.