Questions to ask sellers before getting under contract

3 Replies

Hello! I am new to wholesaling and I am looking to start advertising to find motivated sellers soon but before I do that I m confused about what information you need from the seller to determine if it’s a viable option to wholesale. So far I understand that you should know why they are looking to sell, how fast they want to sell, how much they want to sell for, and if they have any mortgage/liens/back taxes on the property. Is there anything else that should be asked before offering them anything? 

Also if they inform you that there is a mortgage/lien/ back taxes on the house could it still be wholesaled if they accept the offer and agree to pay off the amounts owed?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read and answer!!

hey @Bridget Vasquez I'm not a wholesaler, but I am an agent and if you do have mortgage/liens/back taxes, most of these things will come up in a title search when you work with your title/escrow company to close.  I could be wrong here, so do your own due diligence but in my experience whoever is doing that work for you should be dispersing the proceeds appropriately. So to address your question, yes you should still be able to wholesale it but the question becomes are you offering enough to pay off those liens and mortgages to still make it a good deal for the seller.