Proof of funds letter with offers

17 Replies

friends,

I'm new to the wholesaling business and I have some questions that I was hoping someone could answer for me.

I'm trying to get my first wholesaling deal and I am currently looking at properties in the MLS. Most of the deals I'm seeing on the MLS are asking for "Proof of funds" letters to be submitted with all offers especially from cash buyers. What should I do when I run across this? I'm looking to assign the contract but I won't be able to get any properties under contract without a prof of funds letter. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

That is really easy just show them your bank statement.

Joe Gore

thanks for the response joe. I am actually planning on submitting offers under my LLC not my personal name so I won't be using any personal bank statements. Anyone have any other options?

No matter if it is an LLC or personnel if they ask for proof of funds you will need to provide it because they want to make sure you have the funds to close.

Joe Gore

If you have the funds just show proof if you want the property. Wholesaling off the MLS, while not impossible, it will be challenging. I am a realtor and if I see an offer that says "and or assigns" and I don't know the wholesaler I typically advise my client against accepting that offer. In Dallas homes are getting multiple offers and sellers do not want to tie up their properties to individuals who have no intention of purchasing. I would build your buyers list before trying to wholesale. You need to ensure you have a buyer before you try to tie up a property.

@Jason Kaufman,

A lot of wholesalers here in Dallas have burnt themselves by giving the seller one buck to tie up their property for 30 days with no intention of purchasing, and the realtors are passing the word of dishonest wholesalers.

Joe Gore

@Clary C.