Wholetailing as a Realtor

18 Replies

I have a deal which is a prime candidate for wholetailing. Comps are around $215k and we have negotiated to purchase for what they owe at $180k. It needs very minimal work and I wouldn't put any money into it. My plan is to list the property on the MLS but am not sure how to go about doing it. The seller is aware of my intent and I have disclosed that I am a licensed Realtor. I am not representing the seller and will be a principle in the transaction.

PITI is currently $1640/month

Which is the best way to handle this?

1.Lease option it and then double close

2. Lease option and assign the contract to the end buyer

3. Purchase subject to.

Thanks in advance!

Option 2 & 3 are the best fit but the best thing to do is to speak to your broker and make sure he understands that the deal is 100% ethical & undisclosed. A lease option would be a good option because you can execute the paper work quicker but the sub to I feel may give you more control. It just may take a bit longer especially if you are waiting around for an attorney.

As an agent, I'd list it. We as agents, more than the typical wholesaler, need to be concerned about lease options and sub 2's blowing up at a later date. You may have "I walk away with no liability" clauses and disclosures, but when your assignee fails, or the seller screws the end buyer, guess who's back in the middle anyway.

@Mike Cartmell in my neck of the woods you, as a licensee you could probably get in trouble for a transaction like this.

I might be wrong on this, but for me personally as a licensee (and an investor too) it does especially sound like a textbook case of no no under the new Dodd Frank regulations in regards to "flipping" as R.E "professional"

I am curious, to see what others think.

Good Luck to you!

This post has been removed.

@Brian Gibbons

Thanks for the reference to Shift. I wasn't aware of it, think I need to read it.