Wholesale deals on MLS?

12 Replies

Hello BP family,

I am a new Realtor in Richmond, VA and have always had a strong interest in wholesaling. Since I have access to the CVR MLS here in Richmond, I wanted to know what would be a good approach to use the MLS to find wholesaling deals.

Any advice or guidance to help this newbie realtor/wholesaler get started would be MUCH appreciated.  

Thank you again,

Haider

I would never suggest looking for wholesale deals on mls (although some may), but you will be able to determine value and see who is executing cash transactions, how much they are paying and what and where they are buying.

@Haider Zaman Welcome to BP. I am also a combo investor/Realtor. I've bought about 30 properties with most of them being on the MLS.

There are SOOOO many ways to find good deals on the MLS. Most good deals are going to be properties that need some amount of work. In your MLS there will probably be some way to do a key-word search in the public remarks or agent only remarks. Try searching for key-words such as: fixer, tlc, danger, motivated, needs work, etc.

Thanks guys for responding. @Bryan L, I have a follow-up question for you. When I find properties in MLS that need work, who do you contact to make an offer? Do you go through the listing agent or go directly to the owner?

I figure the listing agents wouldnt be too enthusiastic about receiving a wholesale offer considering it directly impacts their commission.  

Thank you again for your response.

Haider

@Haider Zaman  You should already know the answers to that, even as a new Realtor.

Agreed with @Bryan L.  and @Paul Timmins ...

Note that what Bryan said about there being plenty of good active deals may or may not be true, depending on your location. I've seen areas where you can still find some good deals on the MLS; I've also seen areas where you won't find a good investment EVER on the MLS (at least not these days). It's very location dependent.