The Role of a Realtor in a Wholesale Deal

10 Replies

Hi Folks ~ Newbie here,

I'm wondering how a real estate agent factors into a Wholesale deal. As I read different subjects, they say that a realtor can provide MLS information on cash buyers, areas, etc. I can't imagine they would do this out of the goodness of their hearts, so there must be something in it for them. Is there a "normal" procedure I don't know about? If so, how does it work? How does their commission get paid?

Thanks for any and all input!

Nancy.

@Nancy Eardley  hello Nancy. A realtor is good for clooecting data for comps. You can write your own offer, contract, closing docs and have an attorney review everthing. They get a contact of of providing information to you and the hopes you will bring them deals to list. But no there are not going to waste time if there is not something in it for them.

Thanks, Christopher...I actually have a friend who is a realtor, and I wanted to make sure of my ground before I approached her.  :)

@Nancy Eardley  I would speak with her and ask her if she has  worked with investors  before. There is a guide to give her on how to teach Realtors to work with investors.

@Nancy Eardley   I guess the question to ask is 'what are you planning to do?' Your profile shows that you have been licensed elsewhere... do you plan to operate as licensed or unlicensed, and in what capacity?

Christopher, you're the best!  I just went to it right here on BP, and all I can say is Holy Moly - what a great, big educational tool!

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/08/24/real-estate-agents-working-with-investors/

I just sent her an email inviting her to lunch, and you can bet I'll be encouraging her to sign up with BP AND providing her this link.  

Thanks a lot and, again, you're the best!

Originally posted by @Chris Martin: