Long-Distance Wholesaling

4 Replies

I'm a complete newbie to this and not even sure where to start. I have a regularly updating database of every vacant residential and commercial property in the U.S. but I'm not sure what I should do first.

I have a very busy family so my time to actually go out and visit properties is very limited. And, of course, I can't possibly visit the vacant homes that are outside of my area. But, I don't want to spend a ton of money sending out mailers to all the vacant homes in the database.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to get started with wholesaling using this database?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!

First of all, research the areas that you should concentrate in. A couple of sites have good charts and maps to study: realtor.org (look in Top Menu "Research and Statistics) and another site is ngkf.com (Top Menu again under "Research.")

Choose one area at a time. Then contact a real estate agent in the area (look in this Biggerpockets forum for active agents in any areas around the country) and have him/her share with you even more specifics and recommendations of what is a good area within the area :)

Now send a test mailing to no more than 500 - target single family or small multi (4 units or less) and see the response.

I would not do any due diligence (i.e. see properties, run numbers, etc.) until I get a call and serious interest from the owner.

Good luck! :)

I suggest you start where you live.

While I know some people do long distance investing and do it effectively, I cannot imagine wholesaling long distance.  One key to doing good deals is knowing your market. The farther way a market is the harder it is to know it intimately. 

The Provo–Orem metropolitan area has 1/2 million people. That is about the same populations of my market, Baltimore.  I can't handle all the deals I can find here, why would I go long distance.