Earnest money amount

18 Replies

For private sales is it reasonable to have the earnest money amount be something between $10 and $1000? And I assume for REOs and short sales it would be greater?

Does it raise a red flag to the seller if I offer only $100?

@Patrick Britton

I usually never bring up earnest money when dealing with private sellers unless they ask about it.  If they do I will tell them I can put down $500 to $1,000 with MY closing attorney.  I usually get the seller to close with my attorney as well. 

@Patrick Britton In my area, it's customary to have the EMD be roughly 1% of the purchase price. As an agent, I would encourage my sellers not to accept anything lower than $1000 unless it was a very special situation.

Wow Dawn! 1%? So the EMD on a $250,000 property would be $2,500... I must say that in my neck of the woods it's about half that. And I have heard amounts being as low as 100 bucks. But this is for a wholesale deal on an out-of-state owner wanting to get rid of the property to whomever comes first.

Mind you, Raleigh, North Carolina is a little more high-end then what I am typically looking at.

@Patrick Britton If you are talking about wholesale deals, and you are working directly with the owners, I think you might be able to get away with little or no earnest money. I imagine most sellers don't understand the value in having higher EMD. Retail deals = no way.

I agree with Curt Davis. Unless they have bought and sold a lot of property, a private seller may not even ask about earnest money. If they don't, I wouldn't offer it. You are not trying to screw them over as long as they fulfill their end of the agreement.

I have given as little as $10 to private sellers. If I was buying an REO I would give a large deposit 10%~ so my offer looks strong.

I have never gotten a clear answer whether an earnest money deposit is even required to form a legally binding contract.