What do i need to say to a real estate agent to get him/her to do CMAs for me!?!?!?

7 Replies

Im a newbie  wholesaler! I have not actually wholesaled a property yet but I have one property Im working on.

I recently called a real estate agent and told him I am looking for a real estate agent that can do CMAs for me. He has never worked with a wholesaler before but was interested in what I am doing ... .. or trying to do lol.He told me to meet with him this week. ... ... What are the things I need to tell him to get him to come aboard and what can I do for him so this business relationship can be beneficial to him as well !?!?!?

THANKS

@Michael DuVentre

Ask him if he is looking for new listings when he says yes tell him you will refer ones to have him list that do not fall into wholesale criteria.

Paul

1.pay him for the cma's.

2. provide him leads.

How about "I'll pay you $50 for each CMA you do for me."

That said, you really just want the data. If you want to make it in this business (fix and flipping, wholesaling or buy and hold) you MUST learn how to do your own accurate valuations. Valuation is far too important to leave it to anyone else. And you need to see ALL the comps. Because an appraiser may choose different comps than the CMA. So you MUST know what surprises lurk out that that may break your deal.

Account Closed 

can you elaborate a little more in detail! I really appreciate your incite sir!!!

I really like a young jedi

I'd be very hesitant to have to rely on a real estate agent for a CMA. They tend to be overly optimistic in their numbers.

I think Jon is right on the money with his post. You really should be able to come up with your own estimates. 

As long as your not dealing with really tiny towns (which I do sometimes so that can be a bit tricky), you should be able to use realtor.com or zillow to figure out your estimated value. But do NOT use zillow's estimate. Use zillow to get the comps you need to come up with your own estimate.