How does commission work if you are a licensed real estate agent wholesaler?

7 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am a licensed real estate agent in the state of MA. I am in the preparation stages of starting up a wholesale business. I have almost everything I need to begin, basic knowledge, attorney's to ask questions to, all the forms/contracts, etc., but there is still one thing that confuses me. I am a licensed agent and I hang my license with a broker, how would the commission work if I am the principal in these wholesaling transactions? My first few deals I plan to use a long term lease with an option to purchase to lock up the properties, and then either assign the entire contract to someone else, or retail the property to an end-user.

I spoke with my team leader about this, and got a very brief explanation about it. Basically he said that I would essentially be representing myself as a buyer's agent in the deal which would require the seller to pay me a commission. But I don't quite understand. Can anybody help me with a step by step as to how this process would actually work?

It isn't rocket science.

If you are making offers on listed properties then there is a commission that you can collect as a buyers agent, even if you are the buyer (Some REOs will not let a principal in the transaction collect commission).

If it is an off market deal there is no commission involved so nothing to collect.

On the end side if you are just assigning then again no commission involved.

If you end up selling this retail on the MLS then you are listing it and you will pay some amount of commission as a co-broke and whatever your broker will have as a minimum commission going to the office (In my case I do a reasonable percentage which I get my normal split on).

If your broker/team leader is trying to skim some commissions off your off-market deals they are probably not the best people to be working for if you want to wholesale. 

Shaun Reilly, Real Estate Agent in MA (#9517670)