Is this a good deal.

12 Replies

Hi everyone I am very new to wholesaling and might be coming across my first deal. Im so nervous on how to move forward with this. I found a home for sell and the homeowner is willing to sign the contract, I just need reassurance that this is a good deal and that I would be able to sell it. Here are the details.

3 Bed, 3 Bath 1,100 square fee selling for 350,000.

No structural damage, needs about $40,000 of work.

ARV is $425,000 which a couple homes on the same street last year sold for around that.

Please help me I have no idea what to do. Will a buyer even spend that much money on a home? Every book I read or podcast I listened to never discussed wholesaling homes in this price range. Can it even be done? Thank you for your time. 

I'm a fairly new investor, but I will tell you what I think about the numbers based on my experience. 

You can wholesale at any price point.  Our current project is $500k.

If I took this deal using my hard money formula, assuming your numbers held up (rehab & arv), I would loose approximately $9,000. 

Having said that, I haven't had the privilege of not using hard money for a flip.  So, if I were able to use cold hard cash and not hard money, I might walk away with $9,000.  Hard money or not, I wouldn't take the deal personally.  The deal would look more attractive if you could get it below $325,000.   

My hard money numbers would look like this;

$425,000 @ 70% hard money loan to arv = $297,500

Up front hard money cost, 3% of $297,500 = $8,925

12% interest on hard money, 3 months of rehab and to get it sold = $8,925

Total hard money for 3 months = $17,850.

Hope this helps!

@Michael Algarin